Tofino Mayor and Council

The District of Tofino Council is made up of the Mayor and six Councillors who are each elected at large for a four-year term.

 2017 Council Meeting Schedule  |  2017 Acting Mayor Schedule


Josie Osborne Mayor

Al Anderson


Cathy Thicke


Duncan McMaster


Dorothy Baert


Greg Blanchette


Ray Thorogood


Contact Mayor and Council

Correspondence to Mayor and Council can be forwarded to:

Tofino Municipal Office
121 Third Street
PO Box 9
Tofino BC V0R 2Z0 
Phone: 250-725-3229

*Citizens should be aware that all correspondence addressed to Mayor and Council becomes part of the public record. 

Municipal Purposes & Powers 

Municipalities are created by the province to allow a community to govern itself and provide local services such as drinking water, sewers, roads, fire protection, land use planning, parks and building inspection. The purposes of a municipality include:

  • providing for the good government of the community;
  • stewardship of public assets;
  • providing services and making laws; and
  • fostering social, economic and environmental well being. 

Municipalities are responsible and accountable to their citizens and the province. Their powers and responsibilities are set out in  the  Community Charter  and Local Government Act  . They have the power of a natural person, the power to expropriate, and the power to establish and enforce bylaws. They are able to raise funds through property taxes and user fees, and borrow a limited amount through the Municipal Finance Authority of British Columbia to pay for capital costs.? 

Council as Governing Body

The governing body of a municipality is its council, with each member responsible for considering the well-being and interests of the municipality and community, and for contributing to the development and evaluation of municipal policies, programs and services.