Volunteer Recognition Committee


Do you know in individual or organization deserving of recognition?
Use the
form below to submit a nomination.

The role of the Volunteer Recognition Committee is to promote volunteerism by increasing awareness of contributions made by volunteers to our community. The committee helps solicit nominations for outstanding volunteers from residents and organizations, reviews submissions and makes recommendations to Council on annual Volunteer Recognition Awards.

The Committee also plays a lead role in organizing an annual volunteer appreciation event held each April during National Volunteer Week. Learn more about the Volunteer Recognition Committee's functions in the terms of reference.

To learn more about the different types of District committees and commissions, attending committee meetings and becoming a volunteer member, click here.   

Who We Are

The Volunteer Recognition Committee is established and its members appointed by the Mayor. The Committee consists of six members:

  • Three Council members
  • Three members of the public

To view the current membership list click here.


The Committee is scheduled to meet twice a year. The most recent 3 meetings in the past 12 months are listed below.

Past Recipients


Bobby Burns

February 24, 2021
John Enns

February 24, 2021

Brendan Morrison 

November 10, 2020

James Rodgers 

April 25, 2020

Billy McGinnis    

August 27, 2019

Sandi Rideout 

August 12, 2019

Leah Austin 

April 29, 2019

Ruby Bernard

December 11, 2018

Maureen Fraser

November 27, 2018

Tofino Voluneer Fire Department 

September 25, 2018

Lorne Ayres

August 14, 2018
Marnie Helliwell

June 11, 2018

Sarah Stoski

June 11, 2018
Judy Michaud

April 26, 2018

Michelle Hall

December 14, 2017

Jan Janzen

November 28, 2017

Arlene McGinnis

November 15, 2016

Tim Webb

September 13, 2016

Ruth Sadler

October 5, 2016

Barry Campbell

June 28, 2016

Tom Campbell

July 21, 2015

Arthur McConnell

July 21, 2015

Barb Campbell

February, 2015

Dave and Yvonne Bond

November 12, 2014

Eileen Floody

June 17, 2014

Darlene Choquette

September 12, 2014

Rene Gibson

April 10, 2014

Lee-Ann Unger

February 11, 2014

Donny Collins

October 22, 2013

Jeanette Martinolich

December 10, 2013


Freda Hubert


Neil Botting


Yvonne Bond


Jim McBride      


Jennie Bradshaw


Gary Marks


Kim Hoag


Gavin Guppy


Diane Swift


Chris Douglass


Sister Margaret Baumann


Sister Laura Distaso


Sister Anita Tavera


Volunteer Service Award Nomination:

Eligibility Criteria:

Nominations can be for an Individual or an Organization (see eligibility below). A nomination will be considered two times after its submission. Incomplete nomination forms will not be considered. 


Individuals eligible for nomination must:

  • Reside in or near the District of Tofino;
  • Provide volunteer work or service within the District of Tofino;
  • Not be paid to do the volunteer work (i.e., volunteer work is done on an individual’s personal time).

Organizations eligible for nomination must:

  • Be based in or near the District of Tofino;
  • Provide for volunteer work or services within the District of Tofino;
  • Not pay for the majority of the work (i.e. volunteer work is a significant component of the project/organization).

Individuals and organizations that are NOT eligible include:

  • Current Volunteer Recognition Committee members;
  • Mayor and Council;
  • Those individuals or organizations who have received a Volunteer Service Award within the past five years.


Contact Us

Manager of Corporate Services
Elyse Goatcher-Bergmann
(T) 250-725-3229
(F) 250-725-3775
(E) egoatcher-bergmann@tofino.ca