Municipal Elections

Your vote matters

A municipal election is held every four years in all communities across British Columbia. The next election will be held in October 2026. Voters will elect one Mayor and six Councillors for a four year term.

Local government voting rights are granted to citizens based on residency or property ownership. There is no corporate or business vote in local elections. The District of Tofino uses the Provincial Voters List for resident electors; if you are on the list you are not required to register again.